Clearly Meandering

By Aidan

Ghana's golden coast

The main reason I have come to Ghana is to meet with Tullow Oil, an Irish company that is exploring and extracting oil off the coast of Ghana. Controversial yes - worth exploring, yes equally.

It's a 5 hour journey by car along the 'gold coast' road towards their offices which are just next to the Ivory Coast. I'm trying to stay focused but its hard with views like this! I feel like I'm back in Central America.... Que alegre!

We haven't committed yet, nor have they but we really need to test waters with extractives to try and push them to deliver better safety nets for families affected by their offshore drills, the impact on fishermen, the roll-on effect on women working in markets, the income their kids have etc etc.

I could go on, but I won't as tomorrow will tell another tale after we meet with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.