cate1

By cate1

Falkirk Wheel

Still catching up with my blips.  I've not really been out and about after having Covid.   I cancelled two lunch dates with friends and J and I took Ja, our grandson to Dumfries ice rink on Tuesday, where he was attending a curling camp for a week.  However today we went with two friends on a walking tour around the Falkirk Wheel.  I'd been before with grandchildren and thought it was an amazing structure, but didn't fully realize what it was until tonight when I Googled it.  Apparently it's the world's only rotating boat lift.  It connects the Forth and Clyde canal with the Union Canal, running from Glasgow to Edinburgh.  A truly amazing feat of engineering.  To understand it better, watch the U tube videos.  We weren't on a boat, but walked on paths alongside the canal and thankfully the walk was only about 2 hours long, with of course coffee and cake at the end. The extra is a shot of the tunnel that is mentioned in one of the videos.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.