YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Fab Day Out

For my birthday in April my sister bought me a voucher to make my own blend of perfume at a perfume workshop.  Today was the day we went.  It didn't get off to a great start as I thought it was at the County Hotel in Newcastle so we went there but there but nobody knew about it.  When I checked the voucher it was at the Station Hotel which is just opposite so we made it in time.

We were greeted with a glass of bucks fizz and then the course started.  We were given a general overview of how perfume is made - it usually has blends of top notes, middle notes and base notes.  The lady then kept handing us different sticks with the various perfume smells and we had to decide if we liked them lots, a bit or not at all.  When we had the ones we liked we had to put the sticks all together and waft them in front of our nose.  We could keep adding or taking things away and if we really liked something we could ask for a double amount to be put in our perfume.

The smells I liked included Oud, Fresh Floral and Iris.  I then had to choose a name for my perfume - I called it Joyful (my sister called hers Soul).  We then gave our chosen blends to course leaders husband and he mixed them up.  My sister and I went off to have afternoon tea in the restaurant (delicious) and then the lady bought our perfumes to us.  I actually really like mine.  They save our information online and if I want to reorder my perfume in the future I will be able to.

A really nice day out.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.