Henello

By Henello

It's Never Easy, Is It?

Took these photos from a staircase outside the Jordanstown Campus. Nice area, isn't it?

You can see the Courtyard poking through the trees in the extra. It was part of the University accommodation which was particularly popular with international students. It's been completely unused since the pandemic. The sign bearing the name on the exterior of the building no longer says "Courtyard" and instead reads "Cou t ar " as a result of the letters falling off (which I think were falling off even when the building was being used.)

We've noticed that the extractor fan wasn't working in our new flat's bathroom and had contacted the letting agent about this only the second day after we got the key. My dad noted that there may be a switch that turned the thing on that I had completely missed. I thought that this was probably the case but I was in the student accommodation cleaning my room.

I didn't want the letting agent sending anyone so I went all the way there just to check if I had missed a switch. I didn't. Then my dad told me to check the fuse box. The shower fuse was off! I turned it on but still the extractor fan was not working. So, this whole time I thought the fan wasn't working even though the fuse that operated it was off, but it just so happened that it doesn't function anyway.

I turned on the shower at a hot temperature and turned the fan on just to double check that it absolutely didn't work. A few seconds later the power tripped. Great.

At least I learned more about the problem. Still, shouldn't this have been checked before I moved in?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.