Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Red Admiral resting

A quiet Bank Holiday Monday  -  I'd intended to spend more time working in the garden, but actually spent most of the day completing a site report - sometimes you just have to go with the flow!

During coffee break in the garden I spotted this beautiful red Admiral resting on our bench - the underside of the wing is so intricately patterned in gentle shades, including some surprising patches of blue. In many ways I prefer it to the upper side of the wings.

Late in the afternoon I had a walk in the Nene valley where I found masses of Burnet-saxifrage and Lady's Bedstraw in a field that had previously contained very dull grassland, and a good patch of Trifid Bur-marigold by the river. A Lancaster bomber flew low overhead (see extra), no doubt on its way back to Coningsby after a Bank Holiday air display.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.