Home Concert Season

As a classical music enthusiast I used to enjoy going out to evening concerts and recitals.
Now in my late eighties driving in the dark and often in rain has less appeal.

The wonders of technology have opened up a most enjoyable alternative.
As we have a number of friends with similar musical tastes we invite them round for mini concerts in our house.

Some chat, a glass of wine and some nibbles, an hours music and a bit more chat make up a series of evenings to look forward to.

Several decades ago people used to meet to listen to LP records.
Now we have high quality video with good speaker systems.
I am a member of the world’s biggest classical music video streaming organisation. I won’t give its name here as that would be advertising but anyone can ask in comments.
For about 30p. Per day I have access to 3,000 concerts, hundreds of operas, ballets and documentaries. All advertisement free.

My Blip shows one of my favourite pianists, Sir Andras Schiff, playing a Beethoven Piano Sonata. It will be enjoyed with some friends tomorrow evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.