One day at a time

By MikeSlade

Winner!

I play lawn bowls. It was something I took up when I retired when I felt I needed to do something active and new and wasn’t golf. (I haven’t played golf since the age of 18 but I quite like watching, but I think it is a frustrating and expensive hobby.) So bowls it was. 
Mrs S and I were watching coverage on the BBC from Royal Leamington Spa as part of the coverage of the Commonwealth Games. And Mrs S became interested. So she said she would like to have a go. Now I do coaching at our club so I took her in hand. She is thoroughly enjoying it and is a quick learner. She pays attention to grip, posture, stance, line, length and tactics,  it as with all bowlers she is already finding out that it is difficult sometimes to get the ball to go where you want it to.
She particularly asked me to take this photo. We have been playing roll ups, using four balls each in turn and seeing who can get closest to the white ball (jack). Here she was over the moon that she won an end and so was I. It wasn’t the only end she won but the others were after some coaching and additional shots after I returned the balls back down to her for her to have another go, leavening mine in place for her to work around or knock into or out of the way.
So, quite a long explanation for todays Blip. Mrs S then treated me to lunch in Hexham which was a very pleasant surprise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.