Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Dark horizon

I think I blip too many skies, probably - there's quite a bit of sky round here, and it's often peopled by interesting clouds, but that's no excuse for becoming predictable. However, this has been a day of artistic endeavour in other fields, and although I photographed my current effort under way at my painting class so that I could get a better idea of it, I'm not sufficiently pleased with it to use that. And choir? Well, we have a gig in less than a fortnight and rehearsed very seriously for the past ninety minutes with no space for photos.

Besides, that dark horizon to the north of us this afternoon seemed a good symbol of how I feel about the current political and social situation. Why do people think the new PM can cope? I doubt if she's as mendacious and frankly awful as her predecessor, but ... really? That's why I've included a screen shot from today's Scotsman leader as an extra, though it's not really a photo as such: if this is a journal of today then it's a good summing-up of the events which brought us here, so I hope I'm forgiven for it. 

Maybe painting (with a great deal of conversation) and singing constitute a proper distraction from the awfulness of everything. I certainly didn't get round to reading the paper till after midday - I had a brief chat with the editor too, which was nice - and I fell asleep in front of the six o'clock News. Now I'm tired but not sleepy; my muscles are reminding me of the stretching exercises of yesterday; my voice held up well at choir so I can't be dead yet. 

Now for the marmalade sandwich and a wind-down over something that isn't politics. Do you ever wonder what drives the Liz Trusses of this world?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.