The poppy head ready to spread its seeds

I brought this poppy from my parent's garden after they'd both passed away, when it was a small self seeded plant from the long established parent. I dug it into our front garden and it has been a harbinger of springtime ever since.

Out plant has grown but we don't seem to have let any seedlings mature as they've been rather smothered by other weeds/plants.

Today I noticed the seed head has fully dried out and is standing at the end of its stem. I think in this position wind would shake the head and the tiny poppy seeds would come out of the small holes in the head and spread about the ground. I'm going to try to catch some of them and shake the seeds in other areas of the garden. In can't hurt to have a few more poppies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.