today's another day

By dbrereton

Dirty Secret

My dad died in 2000, and left me 52 years of the Railway Magazine, a collection that he always thought would be worth a bob or two.

Amazingly, a lot of old trainspotters thought the same and ALSO left similar collections, as they went to the great platform in the sky. In the end the £1000s never materialised and I gifted his collection to the Vintage Carriages Trust at Ingrow on the KWVR. In exchange I got in for free entry with Joseph, who was interested in Thomas the Tank engine at the time.

Realisation...£7.50

They sold them on at 10p a copy and probably still have a few left.

This pic however is this months edition, I'm still a subscriber. Why?

Well 3 weeks before he died, as a parting joke, he renewed his subscription for 3 years, knowing full well that that would keep me living in a house never more than a few feet away from a copy.

So 22 years on, I'm still checking up and pretending to be my dad. I bought varifocals when I found myself 'reading' with my glasses on my forehead.....

...just like him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.