Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Laughing Gull

A gull, a laughing gull, resting on the beach this morning. There was very little bird action when we were out there rather early this morning. I spent most of my photography time on the ghost crabs. The most interesting thing I saw was a behavior I hadn't witnessed before and if you look at the two extras you can (maybe) see what the crab did. Usually they have a hole that is theirs and then dart back down into it when you come along the beach. But this one was apparently too far from its home hole to feel that it could get there safely so it did a little wiggle wiggle with its body and legs and basically covered itself with sand (mostly) except for its eye stalks that were still sticking up. The first extra is from further away and the second is cropped closer. See if you can see the crab! In the second one I can see not only its eyes, but also a bit of a leg and claw. The crab is facing left, so the leg that I can see is in the foreground behind the eye(s). But to be honest the only clear things are its eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.