Day 16 - Northern Lights

Day 16 - the the Atlantic Way

Last night, when I kept looking out the window at out lakeside stop, I was puzzled by why, despite no light pollution, it failed to get really dark, even by 11pm when sunset had been around 8.45pm.
Eventually I put on my gilet over my JimJams and went outside. In the north there were queer greenish cloud-like formations. They softly and gently changed places around the sky. Despite there being no shimmering, I became enchanted and assumed this to be a bit of the Northern Lights. My Aurora app said our location was at the southern edge of where they could be seen. (Though today Scottish friends said they were spotted there). I remembered to use my Phone App and tried to take a few photos before getting so cold I had to go inside.

We had a late start this morning as we needed to make a route plan. Mr C thought the Atlantic Way, Route 64, sounded promising. We headed off down the E6, passing beautiful lakes and fjords before entering a rural area with lots of barley fields. Further south the barley had been harvested.

We drove through Steinkjer where we got fuel, and then by-passed the large city of Trondheim on the E39. We had our picnic lunch at a stop overlooking a lake. After that, at some points the road got so narrow we felt it would help to breathe in when we met fast lorries thundering along. There were lots of roadworks in this area due to new 2-lane roads being built. There were as always, many tunnels and bridges. Our auto pass seems to be working as they sent a statement of the charges so far. We eventually found a place to dump waste - even on main roads they are not nearly as prolific as in Sweden.

Around 5 we reached the ferry at Halsa which was just about to depart. They run every 20 minutes and the crossing took about the same time.

We turned on to the 64 at Kristiansund, a large town on the islands, famous for the UK and Norwegian forces trying to use it in a pincher movement to reach Trondheim in 1940. However they lacked air support and had to abandon the effort. No doubt the RAF was busy with the Battle of Britain.

After that we passed under the sea in a 5km tunnel. The brakes got hot as it was a steep descent and the van had to go into third gear to get up the other side.

It was time, after 259 miles, to look for a place to park for the night. We have stopped by the sea, facing NW and the temperature is a lovely 21C. We took a short walk to the shore before getting the chairs out and having a glass of wine at 7pm. There are now a few other vans parked up too. It is noisy from the road but no doubt it will quieten down later. We didn’t expect this area to be so busy at this time of year. I don’t advise anyone to come in July or August as it would be impossible to park.

I haven’t told Mr C that Atlantic Way is a series of bridges, only 4 miles long. He’ll have done it in 6 minutes. I’m going to suggest we leave the 64 after it and take a by-road to Bud which looks like it might be a pretty fishing town to walk round. I’m also planning to go to Alasund now we are quite close as it has art deco architecture.

I can’t decide on my photo. The Aurora ones are pretty poor but on the other hand, seeing it was a bit of magic for me. My app shows 24% chance for tonight so maybe I’ll wait. It’s 5 to 12 and no action so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.