Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Wall, field, hedge, sky, clouds.

This was not what I stopped to photograph - on my weekly trip to Wakefield I pass a clump of trees that I have been meaning to stop and Blip. I took a few shots of the trees, and I quite liked them but when I saw the thumbnail for this I thought it was a beach.
I live an hour's drive from the sea (and even then, it's Blackpool; nothing wrong with Blackpool but the sea is either in or 5 miles out); I miss it!

So I am leaving the trees for another day and posting this. It is plain and simple and I like it for the clouds, for the almost disappearing hedge, for the wiggly wall at the front and for the faintest hint of green on the ground. I wonder what is growing there?

I am much less grumpy today, and appreciate all the kind comments that were left yesterday. I went to spend the day with my recently widowed father-in-law, I cooked roast gammon, tried in vain to persuade him to throw out a few books (well, he did let me throw out a guide to computers from 1999!!) and cleared up after a bird fight in the garden - picking up bits of dead pigeon takes one's mind off petty annoyances!

Finally, my father-in-law and I were chatting about his new GP; he said "she's a mature woman, about your age". I was horrified to be described as such; utterly appalled. So I may have to go do something very, very immature to prove I'm still young. Haven't decided what yet, but it'll have to be before 10pm as I don't like to be out too late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.