Paladian

By Paladian

The Shawl

The thumbnail selector doesn't seem to be working.  Never mind.  

Here's is, to me at least, the find of the century.  It's an original, 1860-1870 paisley shawl, with a slightly raised, woven design (not printed) which came from India, not Paisley Scotland.  The fabric is a very light weight wool - I know the originals were weft silk and warp wool (or maybe the other way round), but I can't quite determine whether that is the case with this shawl.  The fringing is definitely silk.  

It's huge (65 inches square not including fringe); not as big as some which were over 8 ft square, but still plenty big enough.  I've put in a couple of extras - one of the paisley detail, and another of it being worn - none too gracefully.  I'll wear it next time I dress up, but it's definitely only for best, not for everyday wear.

I'm besotted with it - I think I need to make a new dress to properly show it off.  My only Victorian outfit started life as a Pakistani cotton bedspread, so I suppose there is a certain connection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.