'Half Mast'

As soon as the death of HM Queen Elizabeth II was announced I went out and lowered my Union Flag to 'half mast'.  I didn't take the photograph until much later, hence the darkness, which seems quite appropriate anyway.
I was quite shocked when the BBC correspondent, at Buckingham Palace, said that the flag had been lowered "Not quite to half mast". The BBC are continuously getting flag protocol wrong, including flying the Union Flag upside down on many occasions without correcting it. See the link below.

I found the announcement very sad indeed, she has been our monarch almost my whole life so I am now entering my third period of monarchy. I was born 20 November 1948 (6 days after Prince Charles, or King Charles III as he is now). King George VI was on the throne at the time. Her Majesty ascended the throne in 1953 until today, and now we have King Charles III. I wonder if I'll live long enough to see King William succeed his father.
I was very proud to swear my allegiance to her, and the country, during my 13 years of Royal Air Force service. Apart from a fleeting glimpse when she visited South Shields when I was about 5 years old, I didn't actually see her 'in the flesh' until I attended the Platinum Jubilee celebration on 2 June this year. See Extra.
RIP Ma'am, Long Live the King.
UK Flag Protocol | Free online guide | With illustrations | The Flag Institute

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.