The End Of An Era

I have admired the inspiration and eloquence of other Blippers' tributes following the sudden death of the Queen, my own feelings of shock and sadness rendering me speechless.

So before the televised statements by the Prime Minister, King Charles III and the service from St Paul's I put together my collection of significant commemorative mugs.

They appear with my original Coronation mug (that is, the remaining Coronation mug between my two brothers and myself, as my father broke two by using them as shaving mugs) which were issued to all the children in the village during a celebration tea, of which I recall nothing except someone cramming my leftovers into it as I hadn't eaten - I was only five years old and probably overawed. I have the haziest of memories for the coronation itself, though I understand that we were invited to watch on the television of my mother's friend a few doors away.

Left to right, Coronation, the Silver Jubilee, Golden Jubilee, Diamond Jubilee and, lastly, the Platinum Jubilee.

I doubt such a collection will be possible in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.