Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

I was getting ready for work, when I heard the sound of loud drums and recorders (or something similar!). I looked outside and was surprised to see a procession of odd looking people, covered in green, leaves, horns, tall feathers etc. I dashed down the stairs to find my camera and just about managed to get a shot of a few people at the end of the procession. The lady is going to have to do a lot of scrubbing of her green decolletage!

I had no idea what they were up to, but apparently it was the 'Fowlers Troop and the Deptford Jack in the Green (something to do with Morris Men again I believe!) who were walking from Deptford and Greenwich and stopping off at five pubs on the way! I'm sure they had a fine time!

Here is a bit of information I found (whether you wish to know the background of the Deptford Jack or not!)

The Jack in the Green tradition developed from the 17th Century custom of milkmaids going out on May Day with the utensils of their trade - silver cups, pots, spoons - decorated with garlands and piled into a pyramid which they carried on their heads. By the mid eighteenth century other groups, notably chimney sweeps, were moving in on the milkmaids' territory as they saw May Day as a good opportunity to collect money.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.