wild & precious life

By IrwellRiver

Moved!

I'm surprised by how emotional I feel today. I am struck by how extraordinary what I took for granted was! A female monarch who gave the country a sense of stability, constancy and enduring tradition for my whole lifetime and beyond. She was part of our psyche. Through turmoil and change, she remained steadfast, committed, unchanging, wise, devoted to her duties and focussed outward on her family, country and people, not ever on herself. I particularly admire her profound faith that guided her everyday.

As a therapist, I always remember the very moving story that was told by trauma surgeon David Nott when he dined with the Queen. Suffering from PTSD, he remembered feeling like he might "lose it" if he was asked another question about being in Aleppo. At that point, the Queen gently and intuitively invited her dogs under the table so that together they could pet and give treats to them. "That's so much better than talking isn't it", she said to him after he returned to feeling ok again. I just think that it so remarkable and beautiful.

https://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/touching-moment-queen-comforted-welsh-24966868

I worked all day until late, then was kindly fed by my daughter and A at my other daughter's house (they are cat-sitting and house-sitting for her...and tonight they were also mum-sitting). I really appreciated this as hubby was on a night shift so I would have got home at 9.30pm to an empty house and would have needed to start preparing something to eat.

I decided to blip the service medal that both my daughter and my husband were given this year by the ambulance service for the jubilee. Looking back now, how incredible it was to get to celebrate a Platinum jubilee!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.