It's a Journey....

By LeeAnn

Farmington

This is the house my family lived in until I was 8 years old.

I am dog sitting in Plymouth for a few days so took the opportunity to visit my sister and brother-in-law at their brand new home in Farmington. Linda and I took a drive through the “old part” of town. A trip down memory lane.

My parents built this house in about 1959. There was no garage or entry at the time. Just a small rambler. We talked about how young they would have been, and with three little kids. We all had lots of fun in that neighborhood. My parents made life-long friends.

Linda remembers more than I do. She is almost 3 years older than I. Interesting how the houses look not only smaller but closer together with smaller yards. We were pleased to see that the neighborhood seems well taken care off.

We drove by our old school and the downtown area. My Dad had a TV store and repair shop. That building is gone and the lot is used as an outdoor eating area with table and lights.

Farmington is now a city with the area we remember now surrounded by larger homes and businesses. It was fun to remember our small town days in the 60’s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.