Foreveryoung

By weemusings

Hermand Birchwood Wildlife Reserve

For one reason or another, it's been a while since I went out exploring; however, after dropping my eldest off for her weekly class, I went for a short drive and came across Hermand Birchwood Wildlife Reserve.

Just tucked off the B7008, there
is a small car park where you can start your walk from. The route itself consists of a relatively short main circular walk with a few alternative paths from this.

It is a lovely and peaceful walk using a mixture of boardwalks and dirt paths, so of course, after all the recent rain, I had forgotten to put my walking boots in the car.

As well as being uneven in places and walking over tree roots, there are also a couple of styles and kissing gates, so, unfortunately, it’s not really suitable for those with mobility issues.

I'd initially planned on seeing if I could do a walk near/around Cobbinshaw Reservoir but having taken a drive there afterwards, I'm not sure of the best place to park and go for a walk, so if you have any tips on this, I'd love to know for another day. Let me in the comments below if you do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.