Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Every day is a school day...

A suitable title to sum up the day. It included a fantastic afternoon with a group of young people who are exploring "social norms" in relation to alcohol. They are at the early stages - just moving into that phase where they are starting to ask deeper and more probing questions. Beyond "everyone does it, so we just need to accept that and make it safer" to "Why does everyone do it? Why is it such a part of our culture?" I love that moment in exploring through discussion - you could hear brains popping with questions!

We talked about theories of social change, the difference in attitudes to social class and drinking, stereotypes, body image, parental influence and much more. It has really made me reflect once again - another thing I love about the curiosity and open challenge young people bring to these exchanges.

I've blipped this book because it's what's making my brain pop. I had a realisation a wee while ago that to really, deeply understand nature and the incredible wild world around us, I'd need to learn some basics of physics.

I won't lie - it's been an uphill struggle. I realised tonight it's because I have an issue with "facts" - when presented with the theories and findings, I immediately go into "why?" mode. Why does that happen? Why does x equal y? Ad infinitum... It's clear why English was my strong point at school and any science a complete nightmare. I'm not good at accepting something just "is".

Sigh...back to Kepler's Laws...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.