The Way I See Things

By JDO

Camouflage

This dock bug and I have been playing a little game of hide and seek with each other around the fruit bed in the secret garden for most of this week. This morning I caught it pretending to be part of one of the woody stems of this blackcurrant bush, at which point it must have realised that it was going to have to raise its game, because the next time I walked past the bed it had disappeared. Sadly for the bug, it only took me a few seconds to track it down, but I admit to being quite impressed with its new hiding place on the curled brown edge of a dying leaf. I'm awarding it 7/10 for effort.

This afternoon R and I did an heroic amount of coarse gardening, cutting back some overgrown trees in the wild garden. I fear I may have overdone things a little, and there could be a price to pay for that tomorrow. Right now though I have an appointment with the shakti mat, which I hope will set me up for a long, restorative night's sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.