Change of plan

My parkrun plan for this week was a solo trip to Kesgrave.  I need a K for my parkrun alphabet challenge, its a fifty minute drive and Bob needs to be taken on a decent drive instead of the less than 5 mile trips I mostly do.

On Thursday I had to cancel my home event as the local authority landowner chose the amphitheatre on our course as a point for floral tributes and reflection following the death of the Queen.

My frequent touring companions became available (they were rostered  for volunteering at Maldon) and Elaine put together a plan A, B and C that would have enabled us to travel together and all tick off a new challenge.  At 7am Saturday Elaine pulled up kerbside and had just taken a call from her Dad who needed some emergency assistance.

As Elaine and Emma had an event that was much closer that they could potentially get to and get a challenge, if the assistance was completed quickly but which I've already ticked off, it made sense for me to revert to my original plan.  

I headed off towards Kesgrave but realising, on route,  that I would arrive very early and that I could go towards Felixstowe instead and surprise Gordon and Yvonne who I knew were there, thats what I did.

I still arrived very early and got to sit by the sea and listen to the waves.  There were a few people swimming and dog walking. Lovely.

My check tyres light came on as I neared home and the garage advise I should get 4 new ones before the winter.  Keeping my car is making less and less sense.  Difficult decision ahead I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.