This morning I popped up to my ‘local’. Every time I go I say ‘never again’. I’m not talking about the Kirkstone Pass Inn but Wansfell Pike, the hill I see every day from the front of the house..

My intention was to go as far as The Hundreds Road, a track along the fellside. If I made it there I would have three options . . . . return the way I came, walk down to Brockhole where I could have an ice cream and get a boat back to Waterhead, or go up the back of Wansfell.

The first I ruled out because I wasn’t going back through the field of cows and the second I was unsure of because I thought I might get there before opening time. So, I turned left and continued uphill. It’s a pleasant steady climb for most of the way. Coming down is the worst bit. It’s steep and the path has been ‘pitched’ . . . . laid with rocks to keep people on the route and prevent further erosion. It’s not too bad going up but more difficult descending. I took it very very slowly.

Door to door 4 hours exactly and according to my phone 7.7 miles. There are two extras with photos in order from High Skelghyll Farm to the summit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.