Clazel

By Clazel

Priory Church St Bees

A full on Wainwright weekend for us, sunnier this morning, a lovely walk up from Ennerdale Water though a beautiful wooded glen, teeming with dragonflies, a hover fly aglow in a sunbeam - the magic moment of the day - but I couldn’t get a focus on it. Also missed the peregrine falcon and a red squirrel - but lovely to see. A little wet later - and pouring as we drove back - we felt very lucky..Caw Fell and Haycock - with clear tops but not great light for photos. More challenging than yesterday, higher and trickier underfoot, an altogether more mountainous feel.
What I’ve chosen for my blip today is the Priory Church at St Bees where, just after 8 this morning the organist was playing beautifully to, until we arrived, an empty church. I loved the screen - my blip - and the decorative design behind the alter beyond (sacred geometry in abundance), extra, the ancient effigies and stones displayed in the church, some dating back to the 12th century giving a sense of the ancient, the sacred, and continuity down the ages. Then we went down to the beach - which is a lovely one - looking at the C2C (coast to coast) start board - must be 12 years ish since we did that. A good weekend but I’m ready for bed!
Oh and just to say I was ahead of myself yesterday, counting the 2 tops we had planned for today, but now we do have 20 still to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.