Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Heartbroken

Thursday
I landed from Denver just after noon. On the way to the car park I heard the news that the Queen was very unwell and was under medical supervision. When I heard that the family were all heading up to Balmoral I knew this wasn’t good. I listened to the news all the way home and then for the rest of the afternoon. Still, I hoped she would rally. It was hard to believe that she had gone downhill so much since working just 2 days ago.

We got the sad news that the Queen had passed away early this evening. I wept, as did many around the world. We all knew that this day would come, but it was still a shock when it did. For most of us, the Queen has always been there. I’ve always admired her but had come to a whole new appreciation of what an incredible woman she was during this year’s platinum Jubilee.

I bought these two books during the Jubilee celebrations, or just after. It’s been a super -busy summer so I’ve not given myself enough reading time, but I hope I’ll have more time over the colder months.

RIP our dear Elizabeth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.