TURNING INTO WINTER

I had a few errands to run this afternoon and swerved off to the Headland for half an hour. The sea was flat calm at high tide and there were plenty of birds about, but a lot of them are changing into their winter plumage and confusing my ability to identify them. I know this is a Turnstone because it was with lots of others gathered where the Turnstones always gather. Eiders were about too and they're unmistakeable because of the shape of their bills. I've had to ask at another site, though, about a couple of terns that I just couldn't tie in with the descriptions in the book. It's very inconsiderate of them, changing their plumage twice a year!

I may be a little detached for the next week as I'm expecting a Very Important Visitor tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.