ferryoons

By ferryoons

Thinking about the ancestors

While all eyes appear to be on one family*, I'm contemplating the descent of my own. I've mentioned before that part of my Scottish heritage is droving. I find it hard to applaud extraordinary, tax-free wealth when my own people come from the extreme poverty shown in the extra. The Drovers' Departure was painted by Edwin Landseer. We have one of his brother Thomas Landseer's engraved copies. I look at it a lot, thinking about the hovel from which the drover is departing, and the various indications of an absolutely sparse way of life.  Please contemplate. I think I'll be keeping my feet on the ground.

The life-sized statue is at Dingwall auction mart, should you want to see it.

* This is the day Queen Elizabeth II died.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.