Henello

By Henello

River Lagan

Taken from the bridge on Ormeau Road.

We went to a nearby Dunne's to look for some things we needed. The home section wasn't as large as we were expecting. This was because it was half a supermarket. Dunne's isn't a thing in England so my experience of Dunne's is the Abbey Centre shop which doesn't sell any food. R, despite being from Northern Ireland, was utterly stunned that Dunne's sold food.

We bought a mirror for the bedroom. It was only a 10 minute walk so carrying it back was easy enough. What's interesting is how different the two ends of our road are. One side is fairly nice, one side not so nice. We saw a man throwing up just a little further up the road. Not sure what was wrong with him but hopefully it wasn't anything serious.

Was planning on talking to the letting agent about the problems but I was very sleepy for most of the day, so thought I might want to be a little more alert when discussing this. The sooner we at least have an idea of when the issues will be resolved the sooner I can visit my family in England for the first time this year. I've only seen my parents for 2 days when they came over for my graduation.

I wonder what I'll think of these posts in a few years. I already look back to the internet problem days and think about how much easier that was to sort out than the current issues. I asked about getting R a key all the way back on the 23rd and haven't heard anything since!

Seems some students have begun to move in along my road. I was 23 when I moved to Northern Ireland for university and got myself a flat suited to more mature students who needed a calmer living space. Plus, I don't even drink. Most students aren't like how I was, however, so we've started to hear booming music from parties on the other side of the road!

I may not be a student anymore, but at times I still feel like I'm going to university this academic year and being surrounded by students enforces that feeling!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.