Ted3

By Ted3

Portrait of a youngster

I spent three hours of yesterday in my wheelchair behind my super telephoto lens, on a Tripod just twenty feet from my closest bird feeder. I was inside the back door with the door wide open and a dark green blanket clipped across the doorway to hide the tripod. Asking dog and wife to leave the room as complete silence and no movement was required. 
With all in place and settings dialled in, the wait....
Finally the young Goldfinch flew in. As many of you know, given a feeder full of sunflower hearts, Goldfinches are greedy and messy feeders. So trying to get a shot with its beak closed required continuous shooting. I sadly don't have a camera with a faster F.P.S than this, but the Tripod does help. I fully intended a head shot as i knew the composition was compromised
Knowing the sky was not blown out, i was able to add some colour back, in editing. All in all the detail is good.
I printed out the raw file which is incredible. So much better in print. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.