horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Wee Birthday Siskin

I had really hoped to get a picture of a Cuckoo today, as a day off in 'celebration' of yet another year passing in my increasing lifespan was spent at Hopes Reservoir in the Borders. They come back there every year, and it's a nice walk anyway, so picnic was packed and off we went. We did actually see one skirting the hill, and heard it in various places, but just couldn't get the camera on (plus, there were a few thrush imposters getting me grabbing the camera...).

This Siskin, however, in his bright yellow breeding finery, posed a bit more willingly.

Confirmed my position as an old hipster when opening presents this morning to reveal some Rapha cycling gear (i.e. rather cool, very pretty, uber expensive, and not a little trendy and hip). Loads of other bits and pieces and alcohol, with the 'extending presents' of a bit of cash (earmarked for a new bike frame) and a large voucher for a favourite tweedy shop of mine in Edinburgh.

May is a busy month, tomorrow it's my mum, then the 20th is my father-in-law, then the 31st is Mel. For 'busy' read 'expensive'. But I'm not going to complain. Not today anyway.

Went to my Taiko class as normal (Mel and I went out for a meal last night partly because of the class, and partly because it meant I could drink knowing I didn't have work in the morning) and the perils of Facebook meant Lizzie, who was taking the class and who I'm friends with on said social networking site, knew it was my birthday and got the class to sing to me (in place of one of the harder warm-up tasks, so, again, I'm not complaining). Still struggling with one section of the piece which was covered in the two weeks I was on the Isles. But bits are starting to stick. Need to make my 'drum' (out of an old car tyre) tomorrow night.

Today's day off was actually because a boat trip to the Isle of May to see the Puffins had actually be scheduled, but the dates changed and that's happening on Saturday instead. But hey, I had the day off, so stuck with it. Personally I think any government would be onto a winner if it announced an extra bank holiday every year for every individual - being that individual's birthday (to be taken on a Friday if the birthday is on a Saturday, and a Monday if it's on a Sunday, unless you usually work weekends). I may start up a petition suggesting such.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.