Street Tree

This is one of the trees in our street, I love the deep mahogany it goes in autumn.  I believe it is a sweet chesnut.
There are lots of very mature trees on our estate, the land owner sold the land to the local council just after the second World War, on condition that the houses built on the land were reserved for servicemen returning from the war. This is a bit of an EB as T and I went this morning for our seasonal covid vaccination, and the to the opticians to collent our new glasses.
This afternoon I have spent watching the ceremonial procession taking the cofin of Queen Elizabeth to Westminster Hall where she will be Lying in State Until her funeral on Monday.
I have to say that one thing Great Britain does extremely well are these  ceremonial occasions, full of colour, pagentry, splendour and symbolism.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.