Henello

By Henello

Climbing Plants

Don't know what this building is, but I like how it looks!

These plants are also on the Ulster University Jordanstown building. I remember looking at them from the university library at the beginning of my final year there. Each time I went in, I saw more red leaves and then started to see them falling off. I found it odd that I was entering my final year, and seeing the change in the leaves made me think about how quickly the end of the year would come. It came very quickly!

In my first two years, I somewhat enjoyed group work. Everyone did what they were supposed to do, even if sometimes we had to wait longer for certain individuals. In final year, however, I had many team members who just didn't do enough. No idea why considering some had been perfectly fine before. My first two group members I ever had (D and J) weren't there for final year. I did a placement year while they didn't, meaning they entered final year the academic year before me. This is kind of funny because I was adamant about skipping placement year while J tried desperately to convince me to do one as he wanted to retain my help after placement. Although he planned to do placement and I wanted to avoid it, I ended up being the one doing a sandwich course and he went straight into final year.

Both D and J had to tackle the final stage remotely as the pandemic was at its peak. I asked how they were getting on a few weeks in. They both said it was fine despite neither of them being in contact with each other, which was strange since they were inseparable in our very first semester (I didn't join them until the second semester). D told me he hadn't even seen J's name in their online classes. I fell out of touch with them as I was completely engulfed by my placement year. I heard rumours that they both ended up dropping out. You don't get a second run in final year, so they both effectively wasted 3 years and a lot of money. It's a shame. J was very promising from the beginning but a series of mistakes made him question whether he was in the right course and he seemingly stopped caring as much by the end of second year. Hopefully they both find their path.

Nothing of note about my day. It's feeling more like Autumn though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.