An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Blue skeleton...

Lots and lots of little jobs done today, too many and too boring to dwell on, but a sense of achievement none the less :-)

Nikki asked if I would make Millionaire's shortbread for Esme's 4th birthday get together tomorrow, which I was happy to do.  Was incredibly organised and had the shortbread base made by lunchtime.  Didn't have the right sugar to make the caramel so David was bringing that in with him on his way back from Leven where he'd gone to watch a golf tournament.

Squeezed in a little bit of macro photography, which I haven't done in a while and which I enjoyed (should have been doing my drawing exercises but we'll gloss over that!) 

David returned with the sugar so set about making the caramel, which I have made loads of times and never had a problem with.  Well you know what's coming, it was a disaster!  

After simmering for almost 10 minutes with me stirring constantly it wasn't getting any thicker and the butter seemed to have risen to the top creating a greasy clear layer.  Not good!  Thankfully I think I know where I went wrong.  Normally I just bung all the caramel ingredients into the pot and heat slowly till the butter has melted and the sugar dissolved then I turn up the heat to a strong simmer and stir till thickened.  This time I let the butter, sugar and golden syrup melt first, then added the condensed milk.  I think putting the room temperature  condensed milk into the hot melted butter mix caused the butter to separate.  I  will go back to my usual method tomorrow (was time to make dinner so no time to make a second batch tonight.)

And now Tesco online order has been completed too.  Had the following conversation with David...

D - Can you put coffee bags on the Tesco order please?
Me -  Sure, which ones?
D - The Frisky Morning ones.
Me - Frisky Morning?  Is that what they're called?!  (we usually get Taylors Lazy Sunday or Rich Italian) 
D - Yes!  That's what they're called!  You bought them a couple of weeks ago when Lazy Sunday was out of stock.
Me -  (Checks previous Tesco order) Do you mean Flying Start?
D - Ahhhh, errr, yes.

Hahahahaha...I think Frisky Morning sounds much better!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.