So not the plan...

...I had my blip all wrapped up and was super happy with it earlier today. Then my neighbor pointed out that there were some new birds down by the lake. Well, now what self-respecting blipper could resist that?? I found them, tons of them flitting around the yard. (Actually, at a distance, it looked like we had several big butterflies popping around in erratic flight.) I didn't recognize it and didn't need any more images, but took a few for identification purposes. Turns out that it's the Palm Warbler. A small bird of around 4 inches.

Well, wouldn't you know, once up on the computer I realized that I had an in-focus flight shot. My first and I'm thrilled, I just hate to bump this shot of the Yellow-Rumped Warbler. (Also new to our area today, and one I've never seen before.) I actually really love the Yellow-Rump's image... my husband keeps telling me that I should change the date on my camera... Tempting, but I just can't do it. So flickr it is for the Yellow-Rump and some Dafs I got this morning. (Really early today, I was convinced that my neighbors' Dafs were it... I even went back for a second go at them after seeing the results of round one on the computer. I was very glad that they weren't home to see me crawling around their yard...)

The flight shot looks better large, it looses some detail in a smaller image.

It's been a busy but pleasant day. A day that, obviously, had a few breaks for blipping. That camera has sure turned into a magnet. Try as I might, I just can't stay away from it. I joined Blip to trick myself into practicing photography... seems to be working. (Too well some days. ;)

Now I'm wrapping things up for the day, listening to the loons call for each other. It's such a haunting sound that is amplified over the water. A very nice end to a very nice day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.