MrsPuff

By MrsPuff

A Building With no Past

The C.M.L building (Colonial Mutual Life) in Stafford Street, Timaru.

Sadly, no information seems to exist for this fine looking building. The only information I managed to find, after trawling the internet, and my history books, is that at one time it was called the C.M.L building. Even the NZ Historic Places Trust website has nothing except a photo and one sentence about it having a Historic Places Category 2 listing.

I don't know who the architect was, or when it was built.

If you look closely, you will see the 'scorpion' stonemasonry at the top left and top right of the building. It is most unusual, and kinda cool!
Here's a photo of it, taken in the late 1940's/50's.

No doubt, someone will see this and be able to fill in the many missing pieces...

It's been a freezing cold, wet, miserable day here. It was only 2 degrees C at 9am! I'll be cranking up the fire for the first time this year, tonight.

I spent most of the morning at the doctor, and then at the hospital for blood tests. It's the waiting to be seen that I find annoying! Came home to have breakfast, then out to get my blip, then back home to keep warm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.