memento

By memento

The truth about projects

One thing that's true about Mr. F and I is that we love projects...building, refurbishing, making from scratch...you name it, we love doing it.

So when I asked in my bestest sweet voice for a trellis that would showcase the morning glories I plan to send up a corner of the pergola, the man-brainstorm started, the designs poured out, ranging from simple to grandiose.

I was perfectly thrilled with the idea of a painted wooden lattice until, out of nowhere, a bolt of genius struck me! We could do a simple L-shaped copper conduit structure that straddles the post! It would give those blue beauties the perfect ladder up to the sky and best of all, the tubing would take on a gorgeous verdigris patina over time.

Now, after sanding a load of cut pipe and the T-connections and getting ready to dunk them in ammonia to hasten their ageing, I am thinking it may have been better if that bolt of genius had been a bolt of lightning.

Projects, they always take longer than you think....so, when estimating how many hours a project will take, add five, multiply by two and add one (for taking time out to blip the copper conduit)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.