Living my dream

By Mima

She's back in the picture...

Here she is. Ready for a good uphill/downhill walk at Herbert Forest. We've not been there for a few months, but as we were in the vicinity today it seemed a good idea.

My day was completely derailed by my FFL texting me from his crib (holiday shack) on the coast having arrived unannounced late last night. He suggested we meet up on the coast where he and his brother were about to go fishing. 

Off I went. We stood in the bite of a southerly gale while the boys (both in their 50s but still boys) occasionally cast their rods out into the surf, with absolutely no takers at all. Fortunately I took hearty cake which we ate to fortify ourselves. Dogs had biscuits.

After an hour or so I convinced them that a coffee in a local cafe was a good idea. Phew! 

And it was as I drove away from a lovely hour getting warm with drinks and pies that I realised I'd not worn my mask in the cafe, despite it being lunchtime busy. For goodness' sake: new habits aren't quite as easy to develop as I thought. I'll be furious with myself if I develop Covid in the next few days...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.