I've been working as an exploration geologist for a couple of years now, but now I'm getting into Real exploration. Yesterday we packed supplies and drove 5 hours from Cairns to Georgetown. This morning we drove another 1.5 hours down a dirt road to our camp.

The weather this week is and will be horrific, highs of 35-37 with humidity hovering around 90%. There is very little shade to be found. Each day I'll be starting at 6am and heading out mapping, recording the rocks that I see and taking samples for chemical analysis. Days will finish about 430pm where we head back to camp. When it gets cooler around 6pm I'll shower and start cooking dinner, with some me time and sleep from about 9pm.

I'll be doing this for the next 14 days :o I'll have company in the form of Antoine who has been doing this for a couple of years on a FIFO roster.

I was so grumpy this afternoon in the incessant heat and humidity, but as the evening cooled I relaxed. The stars are magnificent, the sounds of the trees, bugs birds and bats and the understanding of isolation is serene..

We tried to connect the starlink today, we got internet up and running briefly, but when I plugged in my laptop I blew the 300A inverter (180A starlink and 130A fast charge laptop). No internet until we get a new battery box.

Tomorrow I'll get stuck into the first full day of mapping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.