samsticks

By samsticks

Somewhere over the Rainbow... Lorikeet

Today was one of those days. The sun was shining, my MP3 player was shuffling to perfection, I was having an awesome ride into work (nice and crisp - I love these Autumn mornings!), when I looked up and two Rainbow Lorikeets were just hanging out. They're actually in this spot quite often, but I'm always in a hurry. For once, I had five minutes before work. I got off my bike, took my camera out, changed the lens and snapped away. They were pretty playful and seemed happy to pose for the camera, so I went a bit OTT. As I was about to carry on my merry way, I looked up at the palm tree next to where I was standing and spotted this guy, surrounded by shade, but sitting in the sun. I took about 5 shots of him and this one ended up being my favourite of the entire session. Funny how these things just happen.

The rest of the day carried on in the same vein - got a load of work done, made it home on time without rushing (such a rarity!), Miles greeted me with a massive smile and I even managed a glass of Shiraz. I was going to do some work tonight, but I've decided that today's been too enjoyable and I don't want to spoil it. So there.

And all the while, my MP3 player on random put out the perfect soundtrack to my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.