pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Queue

Apparently, it has now reached a 24-hour wait time. 

I’m neither a royalist, a republican, a publican or a pelican, so am able to look upon this objectively as both evidence that the great British public love a queue more than anything (it has long since stopped being about The Queen) - lending a new perspective to waiting for rides at theme parks - and that over the course of the last week or so, a lot of people seem to have lost their minds.

I can understand lining the funeral route on Monday to pay your respects, but queuing for 24 hours, just as Autumn hits, to see what is effectively a nice sheet covering a box for just a few fleeting moments? Absolutely bonkers.

My day has been spent selling promises for money, typing words on a screen that I will never see again and watching a film with the children that I have seen about a million times (Danny the Champion of the World). Much more sensible…

This is the view up river as I walked into town to join the family for tea at The Brewery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.