Davidsblips

By Davidsblips

Sherborne Abbey with a flag flying at half mast

In recognition of the death of Queen Elizabeth II of course.

On Fridays I try to attend a concert given by the Sherborne Music School. It is a lunch time concert and is free to attend. Yesterday I decided to walk to the venue and judged that I had just enough time to do that.

I decided to walk past the Abbey on my way and saw that there was a Union Flag flying at half mast. This would be in common with thousands of public buildings in the  UK and beyond just now.

It turned out not to be a quick snap. The direction of the prevailing wind saw to that. It dictated my viewpoint and I needed to wait patiently as the breeze unravelled the flag that had wrapped itself around the flagpole. Finally the flag unwrapped and began to fly visibly in the wind and I took this photograph.

Job done I thought whilst I ran on to the concert venue. I made it just in time. Well worth while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.