Liverpool

I went into Liverpool to see the relics of St Bernadette that are going round the country. I have been to Lourdes several times helping with adults with learning difficulties. It brought back memories. I started at the Anglican Cathedral and so I saw them there. I also went into the Lady Chapel and signed the book of condolence. I left the Anglican Cathedral and walked down Hope St to the Catholic Cathedral. I waited over an hour for the service to welcome them, I was sat down. It was a lovely service and the singing of the beautiful Ave Maria a bonus. I didn't walk past the relic again as there was quite a queue and I had done that. 
I walked back into the town centre past the Lewis's building with the statue from the song In 'my Liverpool home'. I have recently read a novel set in Liverpool and the heroine worked in Lewis's. In the book there were exotic animals on the top floor. I remember going into Lewis's in the 1970s. 
The town centre was so noisy music blaring out of every pub. I went into John Lewis and bought a lovely mug for my morning cuppa and 2 lovely dessert bowls. I also went into Waterstones and bought the new Alan Garner book. memories of teaching in Blackburn. 
I am exhausted now after a wonderful day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.