Reflection

Went for a run along the estuary path this morning & a walk along the other side of the estuary this afternoon, past the area where the fishermen unload their catches, & out along the coast path proper, using various backroads & paths to complete the circuit.

I couldn't resist trying to capture some of the fishing boats speeding in, but the thing which really caught my attention was the memorial to the boats & crew lost at sea between 1948 & 2008. There was a sculpture of a seaman standing looking out to sea over the bow of a boat & a series of polished plaques set in granite on the wall behind. I managed to angle the shot so that the sculpture (& part of the town & harbour) are reflected by some of the plaques. I didn't count the plaques or tally the number of seamen lost, but a newspaper article at the time of the installation talks of 45 boats, 88 men - & that seems to be just from a fairly local part of Finistère. Many of the losses were in the 1950s & 60s, & I don't know the size of the fishing fleet back then. With my family background I've always been aware of the risks, but finding this memorial provided a jolt on a beautiful sunny afternoon on the coast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.