Dripping

I've only managed a low quality record shot for today, but I'm progressing with the jelly. This mixture is apple, blackberry and elderberry, dripping through my increasingly decrepit jelly bag suspended, as always, from the legs of an upturned chair. The small apples I used for the jelly are quite hard, so I softened and simmered the fruit overnight in the slow cooker. I'm hoping this saves electricity, as it would have been on the hob for a long time and our overnight electricity is cheaper (slightly less expensive!) than the daytime tariff, but I suppose I should find out rather than just hoping. It seems to have worked fine; I used the same method for my marmalade this year. Once it has finished dripping and I've made the jelly, I will re-boil the fruit mixture, which is quite thick and intensely flavoured, with some additional water and put it through the bag again to make cordial. It won't be quite as tasty as the first bowl of juice, but still usually gives a good result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.