CameraColin

By MrColinWilson

Exploring

It has been suggested by learned folk that encouraging cycling is good for the local economy.
I'm starting to see the logic in this.
I'm not new to cycling, I was heavily into mountain biking in the 90's and use my cannondale to scoot about on.
But when you use a bicycle as a primary means of transport like commuting you start to gravitate away from the roads you use in the car and find routes through parks and quiet side streets.

The process of reacquainting myself with my neighborhood has begun as I pedal my way through it. I will be more likely to stop at local businesses to pick up groceries on my way home than to go to the ubiquitous Tesco because they have a car park.
Local authorities really need to latch on to this and start providing decent infrastructure and facilities which encourage people out of their cars for short journeys.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.