Celebrating green public transport

Today I had an assignment from Jo Ann's campaign office, to photograph the grand opening of the FX Buses in Portland, part of the movement toward reducing carbon emissions and providing mass transit from the city center to the suburbs. There are hopes more people will use the buses and leave their cars at home. We have a long way to go, but Jo Ann is leading the way. Here she stands with a group of city dignitaries watching a lion dance performed by Chinese acrobats just before boarding the bus for the inaugural ride. I borrowed Sue's 18mm lens so that I could get the whole gang in front of one of the new buses (extra).

I didn't post yesterday because I spent hours responding to comments on Margie's thoughts about the Queen's lying in state, and I still haven't responded to all of them, but I have enjoyed the many thoughtful and passionate responses, and I hope those of you who have time for reading "kilometers of comments," as Barrioboy calls them, enjoy them as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.