Belties

You can always spot a few belties (Belted Galloway cattle) on fields around my mother’s village. I think they are used mainly for vegetation management here, not so much for their meat. It’s always nice to see them, they look so cute with their broad white belts.

I went for a short walk before meeting my mother and her German carer Frau G for the usual Sunday coffee and a little project. Frau G’s son M joined us for coffee. He is a teacher, and he asked if we could spare some books. He wants to open a little library in his classroom, to try and get his teenaged students to occasionally switch their smartphones off, and read a book instead.

My mother’s house is full of books, many of them suitable for the age group (she once worked for children’s TV and got lots of books sent to her to adapt them into TV programs), so I didn’t have to search for long. I also added some of my own books from my old room

Finally, M’s cardboard box was so full he could hardly carry it to his car, but it barely made a difference to the bookshelves in the house. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.