The troll was not at home

Today I did my private all day geocaching and hiking trip to Simpele and Parikkala area. The main target was Pöröpeikon polku hiking trail where I have planned to visit for years.

It's only 3.5 kilometers long, but the terrain is very challenging to hike because there are long and really steep rock slopes and paths down into the forests. Beautiful small forest ponds and wonderful wilderness landscapes, huge boulders and nice caves.

In the biggest cave The home of Pöröpeikko troll  there was one geocache inside, so I had to use head light and crawl to smaller "room" to find geocache. Along the trail are also very nice campfire spots. There is also a sauna for rent at one campifre hut!!! (4th additional image). I think I'll have to make an overnight trip there sometime and use that option. The sauna is on the shore of the forest pond in the first additional photo.

Heavy, sweaty but great adventure! I closed my trip to geocachers meet in Parikkala. Few more photos form the trip in extra section.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.