If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Blue Tit ( Cyanistes caeruleus )

We were sitting quietly in the house and heard a tap tapping.  We found the source, a Blue Tit perched on the frame and pecking at the window.  I am not sure if it was seeing its own reflection or if it was a "feed me, feed me now" message.  Reaching for the camera, the movement startled it, and off it flew.  However, ever hopeful I positioned the camera where I could reach it with less movement.  Sure enough in a few minutes, it was back.  This time I managed a shot.

Blue Tits seem to have had a good breeding season this year, at least there are lots and lots in the garden.  In general, the species is doing reasonably well there are about 50% more than there were in the mid-60s.  With the exception of the highest parts of northwest Scotland they are found in all tetrads in the UK

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.